Platy Guidebook 1.0

Platy is good for fish beginners. It’s very popular and classic I dare say! It has various type with different fin shapes, colors, patterns on their body. In my case, so far I only like to have Mickey Mouse Platy which has mickey mouse-like face on their tail. And I tend to have Red ones instead of other colors. Even for Mickey Mouse Platy, it has different colors of fish, so you should check out the nearest aquarium or stores if you’re interested in them. I know my blog is all about me having little tanks, talking about fry, pictures and sometimes pizza. But I thought that it would be great if we can go to somewhere more deep for your information. It will be very helpful to you when you decide to have your own tropical fishes in your place. So, enjoy my humble Platy Guidebook 1.0 and please leave a comment if you’d like to ask some questions or give me some feedback! 🙂

1. Platies are live bearers.

I’ve shown my fishes having birth and little fry swimming around all the time. So, you might think that all the tropical fishes give birth with cute little fishes right away. But it is NOT! In general, they spawn with eggs. (sort of hatching eggs in the water)
Live-bearers retain the eggs in their body and give birth to live, free-swimming young. Most commonly guppies, mollies, platies, swordtails, and limias are in that category.

Some of fishes have their eggs in their mouth to protect their eggs! Isn’t it amazing?!

Because Platy is a live bearer, it is easy to take care them. They’re strong and easy to breed. Yay for beginners! 🙂

2. Platies can give birth 2~3 more months without male fish.

Yeah, you heard me. I have not confirmed with my eyes yet but that’s what people say.
The female platy can have the sperms in their body and save it so that they can have babies 2~3 more times. This also explains why you would have more and more platies once you have mommy fish. Cause they hardly stop giving birth!

3. Platies live for 2~4 years.

This one, I haven’t confirmed yet either. I read this article that someone actually had their platy more than 4 years in their tank. So I guess it depends on their owner’s effort and the environment.

Note:
Take good care of them. – Having fishes isn’t really just for fun. They can also feel.. like us!  They’re live creatures.

Leave a Reply

